Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content
Navigate Up
Sign In

University Senate

What is the University Senate?
The University Senate is a collegiate body responsible for studying, reflecting upon, preparing and suggesting general recommendations and norms intended to promote and govern the Institution’s academic and formative quality and to encourage the faculty and associates' professional growth.  (University Senate Regulations, Article 1)

What does the University Senate Do?
The University Senate was crated on the 10th of November, 1998, in order to assure the quality of educational interaction in the university (General Statute, Article 34). Among the responsibilities of the University Senate are the following responsibilities: 

  • Suggest general norms, regulations and educational policies to guide the actions of the academic and formative areas' members. 
  • Recommend amendments or additions to the academic and formative activities' quality regulations. 
  • Issue recommendations to the President's Office in order to have the corresponding proposals prepared and assessed. 
  • Encourage the faculty's professional growth. 
  • Appoint a commission to witness the university solemn ceremonies, among them, the University President's Annual Report and the graduation ceremonies.
  • Inform the university community of its actions.  (University Senate Regulations, Article 4)
Who makes up the University Senate?
The University Senate is composed of 58 members (academics, administrators, and students) who come from each area of the university. The actual president is the Academic vice-rector, Fernando Mata Carrasco, Phd. The period of election is for two years and the elections are conducted through a democratic and transparent election process.